Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / Nevada

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type

Nevada Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours Required Elective Hours
You Need: 24 12 12
We Offer: 24 (Only 12 Hrs. Can Be Online) 12 12

Nevada Requirement Detail for Real Estate Continuing Education

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: Every two years by the last day of the month in which you first obtained your license.

Hours Required By The State:

SALESPERSON SUBSEQUENT RENEWALS (Licenses expiring before or on September 30, 2021)

Subsequent renewals are valid for two years. 24 hours of continuing education is required. Proof of completion must be submitted to the Division. Of the 24 hours required, 12 hours must be taken in the following categories:

  • 3 hours Agency
  • 3 hours Contracts
  • 3 hours Ethics
  • 3 hours Law & Legislation
  • 12 hours of General course with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development

At least 12 of the required 24 hours must be taken through live instruction.

SALESPERSON SUBSEQUENT RENEWALS (Licenses expiring after October 31, 2021)

Subsequent renewals are valid for 2 years. 36 hours of continuing education is required. Proof of completion must be submitted to the Division. The 36 hours must be taken in the following categories:

  • 3 hours Agency
  • 6 hours Contracts
  • 3 hours Ethics
  • 3 hours Nevada Law
  • 3 hours Risk Reduction
  • 18 Hours General (Business Broker permit holders must include the 3 hours of CE for permit renewal; Property Management permit holders must include 9 hours of CE for permit renewal)

At least 18 of the required 36 hours must be taken through live instruction.

Please Note: No more than 3 hours in each two-year period may be taken in Personal Development courses.

The CE Shop's Offering: 24 hours (only 12 hours can be taken online)

The following courses are considered personal development courses:

  • Personal Safety
  • Selling to Your Sphere of Influence
  • Roadmap to Success: Business Planning for Real Estate
  • Current Issues and Trends in Real Estate

Property Manager Permit or Business Broker Permit holders must include 3 hours of continuing education specific for each permit. The CE Shop does not currently offer courses to satisfiy the requirements for either permit.

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the Nevada Real Estate Division. The state requires schools to report course completions within two to three days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date.  Each course has an individual expiration date which is listed in your account.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass. 

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information:

License Renewal Process: The process to renew a license in Nevada may be renewed by mail or in person. Include:

  • Completed Renewal form
  • Copies of Continuing Education certificates
  • Applicable fees

If renewing by mail, the application must be postmarked by midnight of the expiration date (the last day of the renewal month). If renewing in person, we suggest that you avoid the end of the month and the middle of the day. 

Post-Licensing: First-time licensees issued an initial license, except as defined by NAC 645.4442 Subsection 2, must complete 30 hours of Post-Licensing within the first 12 months immediately after initial licensing through live instruction. The CE Shop does not offer any of the Post-Licensing hours at this time.

Repeat Courses: Courses may only be taken once to meet the requirements for Continuing Education, during a single license period. 

Please refer to the NAR website for information regarding the following courses: Accredited Buyer Representation Designation course, At Home With Diversity, Expanding Housing Opportunities, Generation Buy, Home Sweet (Second) Home: Vacation, Investment, Luxury Properties, Military Relocation Professional Certificate Course, New-Home Construction and Buyer Representation: Professionals, Product, Process, REALTOR Code of Ethics Training, Real Estate Marketing Reboot: Innovate > Relate > Differentiate, Real Estate Safety Matters, RPR: Real-Time Data, Market Knowledge, Informed Customers, Seller Representative Specialist (SRS) Designation Course, Seniors Real Estate Specialist (SRES) Designation Course, and Short Sales and Foreclosures: What Real Estate Professionals Need to Know.

Nevada Real Estate Division

Street Address: Las Vegas Office - 3300 W. Sahara Ave.,  Las Vegas, NV 89102

Street Address: Carson City Office - 1818 E. College Parkway, Suite 110, Carson City, NV 89706-7986

Telephone: 702.486.4033

Fax: 702.486.4275

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

License Renewal Requirements

Contact NV Real Estate Commission

Contact NV Real Estate Commission via Email